Fort Collins Third Degree Criminal Trespass Lawyer

What is Third Degree Criminal Trespass and why do you need a defense lawyer if you are facing these charges in Larimer County, Co? Click here to find out.
When an accusation is made that our client entered onto someone else’s property without owner consent, the District Attorneys and Larimer County Sheriff generally charge our client with Third Degree Criminal Trespass / Trespassing. In Fort Collins, as well as all of Larimer, Grand, and Boulder County, having an experienced and knowledgeable attorney to defend you in court is vital. It is critical that you contact a trustworthy lawyer immediately and not speak with the Fort Collins, Loveland, and Estes Park police in any manner.

Definition of Third Degree Criminal Trespass

The law defines Third Degree Criminal Trespass – C.R.S. 18-4-504 – as:

a person unlawfully enters or remains in or upon the premises of another

 Sentence for Third Degree Criminal Trespass

Degree Criminal Trespass can be charged and sentenced in three different ways:

  • a petty offense
  • a Class 3 misdemeanor
  • a Class 5 felony

Petty Offense Third Degree Criminal Trespassing

Third Degree Criminal Trespass is considered a Class 1 petty offense holding a maximum sentence of 6 months in county jail and a $500 fine.

Misdemeanor Third Degree Criminal Trespass

However, the charge can be worsened to a Class 3 misdemeanor if the county has designated the land as agricultural land. You may find yourself being charged and potentially facing up to 6 months in jail in Fort Collins, Colorado at the Larimer County jail, or in the neighboring Grand, or Boulder County jails. A $750 fine could also accompany this jail time.

Felony Third Degree Criminal Trespass

Third Degree Criminal Trespassing is considered a Class 5 felony if the land is agricultural and the person enters the property in order to commit another felony. This felony charge can result in a maximum sentence of 3 years in the Department of Corrections (DOC) and up to $100,000 fine.

While serving jail or prison time may be what the District Attorney wants, having a knowledgeable and experienced attorney will increase your chances of getting a probation sentence, or even getting your case dismissed.

Having an attorney will increase your chances of getting a probation sentence, or even getting your case dismissed.

Examples of Trespassing Cases in Larimer County

Often, theThird Degree Criminal Trespassing cases that we handle are circumstances where our client is being accused of refusing to leave the premises of another. Many times loitering, alcohol, or an ex-relationship is a major contributing factor. Whether the land is considered agricultural is important information for your lawyer to know. If you are on someone else’s property and are asked or told to leave, it is Colorado law that you depart from the house, apartment or condo immediately. Consequences for trespassing can be prison or jail time, so it is imperative that you have a trusted criminal defense lawyer on your case.

 Why You Need a Lawyer for Your Fort Collins Trespassing Cases

Facing prison or jail time for your Trespassing charge could seriously disrupt your life and affect your future.  With over 20 years of experience defending clients accused of Third Degree Criminal Trespass in the Fort Collins area, we have the expertise and knowledge to be your advocate in court to get the best outcome in your criminal case. Third Degree Criminal Trespass charges can result in serious consequences – you need to take steps to protect your future by contacting one of our best criminal defense lawyers. Put our team for work for you.

 

If you or a loved one has been charged with Third Degree Criminal Trespass, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact an experienced criminal defense attorney at the O’Malley Law Office 970-658-0007 for a free consultation.
Together, we can protect your future.