↑ Return to Practice Areas

Theft Defense Attorney in Larimer County | Fort Collins, Colorado

Need a theft defense attorney in Larimer County? Call our experienced criminal lawyers in Loveland and Fort Collins at 970-958-0007 for a free consultation!
Theft can be a felony or misdemeanor in Fort Collins, Loveland and Estes Park. The police will charge theft when a person is accused of taking something which was not theirs.  Unfortunately, police don’t care whether the person who held the property was the lawful owner, or whether they owed money to the accused.  Allegations of theft are easy to make by an ex seeking revenge, or a disgruntled employer trying to avoid paying unemployment.

Felony Theft in Fort Collins

Felony theft is defined at C.R.S. 18-4-401 and results from the taking of something of value without authorization from its owner, with the intent to permanently deprive the owner of the thing of value.

  • If the item or cash taken is valued at $20,000.00 or more, but less than $100,000, it is a class 4 felony.
  • If the item is valued at $100,000.00 or more, but less than $1,000,000.00, it is a class 3 felony.

Probation or a prison sentence can be imposed for a felony conviction.

The Requirements of Misdemeanor Theft in Loveland

Misdemeanor theft is also met by taking something of value from another without permission, with the intent to keep it.

  • When the item taken is valued at $750.00 to $1,999.99, it is a class 1 misdemeanor.
  • If the value is less than $750.00, but more than $300.00 it is a misdemeanor, class 2.

County jail sentences of up to 18 months can be given for misdemeanor theft.  Probation is also possible.

Why You Need a Theft Defense Attorney in Larimer County

There are many other variations of theft which can increase the penalties listed above.  These usually come from more rare situations when items are hidden, abandoned or taken by force.  Additionally, the government can accumulate the value of several items taken over time in order to increase the theft classification.  For example, if four items valued at $300.00 each are taken over a three month period, the total loss is $1200.00.  In this case, the District Attorney can aggregate the total of all items and charge it as one count of felony theft over $1,000.00. You need an experienced theft defense attorney in Larimer County by your side to fight for you; your freedom is at stake.

A conviction for theft will impair your ability to obtain a future job or obtain any position of trust.  Don’t take chances when charged with this serious offense.  If you are contacted by police or a sheriff’s deputy, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and call the experienced theft lawyers at the O’Malley Law Office, P.C.,  at 970-658-0007, or submit this form.   Together, we can protect your future.

Did you know Embezzlement is no longer a recognized crime in Colorado? Now it would be charged as Theft. Read more about it and how a lawyer can help you.

Fort Collins Embezzlement Lawyer in Larimer County

In 1967, Colorado government decided to combine Embezzlement, Larceny, Stealing, Shoplifting, False Pretenses, and Confidence Games into one category called “Theft Crimes.” As a result, Embezzlement is no longer an independent crime in Larimer, Boulder, or Grand County. It now falls under the Theft statute. What Was the Difference Between Embezzlement and Larceny? Embezzlement and …

View page »

Charged with Felony Theft in Northern Colorado? Read more about these charges and how an experienced lawyer can help you with your case in Larimer County.

Fort Collins Felony Theft Lawyer

Theft can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the value of the item taken. The Larimer, Grand and Boulder County District Attorney’s offices have a specific unit to prosecute Theft cases, especially Felony Theft cases, called the Economic Crimes Unit (ECU). This specialized unit has a particular set of probation terms …

View page »

Charged with Misdemeanor Theft? Read more about the charges and how a lawyer at O'Malley Law Office can help you with your case.

Fort Collins Misdemeanor Theft Lawyer

When an item worth less than $2,000 is stolen, the person accused of taking the item will likely be charged with Misdemeanor Theft in Fort Collins. Theft Definition in Larimer County Theft, as defined by C.R.S 18-4-401, is taking something of value from another person. There must be the added elements that the alleged thief …

View page »

Have you been charged with Shoplifting Theft? Read more about your charges and how an experienced lawyer can help protect and defend you and your future.

Shoplifting Theft Lawyer in Larimer County

Shoplifting may seem like a silly prank or no big deal, but if you are caught shoplifting, you will be charged with petty Theft, felony Theft, or misdemeanor Theft depending on the total value of the item or items taken. What is Theft in Fort Collins? Colorado law defines C.R.S. 18-4-401 – Theft – as: …

View page »