Failure to Register as a Sex Offender Lawyer in Larimer County

Have you been accused of Failure to Register as a Sex Offender? Read more about what these charges mean and why you need a lawyer on your side to defend you
Any person convicted of or pleading guilty to a sex offense in Larimer, Grand or Boulder County, is required to register as a sex offender. Offenses like Sexual Assault, Unlawful Sexual Contact, Sexual Exploitation of a Child and Indecent Exposure are just a few of the charges which require sex offender registration under Colorado law. A person required to register must continue to do so until a court order allows them to stop.

Registering as a Sex Offender: What Information to Register and How Often?

A sex offender must provide the following information when registering:

  • Name
  • Aliases
  • Address and Phone Numbers
  • Vehicle Information (including VIN number)
  • E-mail Addresses
  • Chat Room Names
  • Instant Messaging Names

Other miscellaneous information may be required as well.

There are two different categories for registering. There are those who have to register yearly (on their birthday) and those who have to register quarterly (every 3 months). The type of sex offense a person is convicted of determines how often they must register. On top of the scheduled registration requirements, sex offenders must register or re-register within 5 days if they move to another residence in Colorado, move to another state, move from another state to Colorado, or are released from jail or prison.

Failure to Register in Fort Collins

Failure to Register as a Sex Offender– C.R.S. 18-3-412.5 – can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. This often gets charged if someone does not register within the required time frame or does not provide complete or accurate information on their registration paperwork. If the original offense was a felony, the Failure to Register charge will be a Class 5 or Class 6 felony. If the original offense was a misdemeanor, then the Failure to Register charge will be a misdemeanor. If the Fort Collins, Loveland, and Estes Park Police have evidence that someone has failed to register or has provided inaccurate information, they will arrest the individual.

You will need support for this unforgiving area of the law.

Why You Need a Lawyer for Your Failure to Register Charges

There are serious consequences for having a Failure to Register as a Sex Offender conviction on your record. It will make your treatment and supervision more complicated and could extend them. You may face Larimer County Jail time or DOC prison time as well. The experienced attorneys at the O’Malley Law Office will fight for you and your future. You will need support for this unforgiving area of the law.

If you or a loved one has been contacted by Fort Collins police concerning Failure to Register as a Sex Offender, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact an experienced sex crimes defense attorney for Larimer County at 970-658-0007, or submit the “Get Help Now” form. Together, we can protect your future.