- Sexual Assault and Rape – C.R.S. 18-3-402
- Sexual Assault on a Child – C.R.S. 18-3-405
- Unlawful Sexual Contact – C.R.S. 18-3-404
- Indecent Exposure – C.R.S. 18-7-302
- Incest and Aggravated Incest – C.R.S. 18-6-301
- Public Indecency – C.R.S. 18-7-301
- Failure to Register as a Sex Offender – C.R.S. 18-3-412.5
- Invasion of Privacy for Sexual Gratification – C.R.S. 18-3-405.6
- Prostitution, Solicitation and Pimping – C.R.S. 18-7-201
- Sexual Exploitation of a Child – C.R.S. 18-6-403
- Internet Sex Crimes:
- Internet Sexual Exploitation of a Child – C.R.S. 18-3-405.4
- Internet Luring – C.R.S. 18-3-306
- Enticement of a Child – C.R.S. 18-3-305
- Other Information about Sex Offenses:
[pullquote align=”center” textalign=”center” width=”90%”]Information About Sex Offense Convictions[/pullquote]
Sentences for Sex
Offenses in Larimer County
Sentences for sexual crimes vary depending on the severity of the offense committed in Fort Collins, Loveland, Estes Park, or across Colorado. For example, Unlawful Sexual Contact is a Class 1 misdemeanor extraordinary risk crime (the maximum sentence is up to 24 months in the Larimer County Jail), while the more serious offense of Sexual Assault on a Child is a Class 3 or Class 4 felony (the maximum sentence is up to life in the Colorado Department of Corrections under Colorado’s indeterminate sentencing laws). It is vital that your sex crimes defense attorney in Larimer or Grand County works to minimize your sentence and fight aggressively in the courtroom to protect your future. When so much is at stake, don’t put your future in the hands of chance.
Registration as a Sex
Offender in Larimer County
If the parole board allows you to be released on parole, you must register as a sex offender in the community where you live, such as Fort Collins, Loveland, or Estes Park. Registration must take place annually or every 90 days (depending on what crime was committed). In some cases, registration is quarterly. Registration as a sex offender in Larimer County is not an easy process to keep up with – you must register your car, phone numbers, chat room names, email addresses, place of residence, and where you work. If you fail to register any of these items, you will be charged with Failure to Register – C.R.S. 18-3-412.5, and could go back to prison or jail. Your name, photo, address and the crime you committed are all made available to the public.
Sentencing in Colorado
Under Colorado law, many sex offenses are punishable by indeterminate sentencing. In normal felony cases, the judge specifies a specific number of years in the Colorado Department of Corrections. With indeterminate sentencing, however, the judge specifies the minimum, but not the maximum, such as “2 years to life.” There is a high probability that if you are convicted of a sex offense in Larimer County and are sentenced under indeterminate sentencing, you will spend more than the minimum of your sentence in prison. When the Colorado parole board considers you eligible for parole, there will be a hearing. All interested parties (such as the prosecutor) can give input on the decision at the hearing. Ultimately, it is up to the discretion of the parole board whether or not you spend the rest of your life in prison. They parole board is only human, and is often prejudiced by political influences.
Sex Offender Intensive
If you are convicted of an unlawful sexual offense, you will undergo an extensive treatment program. The Sex Offender Management Board (SOMB) oversees the treatment for sex offenders in Larimer County. The SOMB has a “no-cure” policy concerning sex offenders. They believe that offenders have a “behavioral disorder” that “cannot be cured,” and that all sex offenders are “inherently covert, deceptive,” and “dangerous.” While this is true about some sex offenders, it is most definitely not true of them all. The SOMB’s approach does not take into account different levels of offense: a man who got drunk and slaps a woman’s butt in the bar will receive the same treatment as a serial rapist. Such generalizations make going through treatment long and arduous. The duration of sex offender treatment programs are subject to the discretion of the board, so you could face a minimum of three years of treatment.
Why You Need an Experienced Sex Crimes Defense Attorney for Larimer County
A sex crime conviction has the potential to ruin your life. Don’t go into court alone. Have an advocate by your side to protect your rights and fight for you. The experienced sex crimes lawyers at the O’Malley Law Office have spent over twenty years defending good people like you. We understand the complexities of indeterminate sentencing, sex offender registration, and the policies of the Sex Offender Management Board. It is critical for your future to have someone by your side who thoroughly understands the intricacies of the law regarding sex crimes.