Manslaughter in Fort Collins and Larimer County

Have you been charged with Manslaughter? Read more about these charges and how one of our attorneys can help fight for you and protect your future.
When someone has suffered a tragic loss, there are always questions they want answered. Many times if the death is the result of an accident, family and friends of the deceased want someone to blame and someone to hold responsible. It is in these instances, that Manslaughter charges will be filed. The law does acknowledge that accidents occur, and so criminal charges will be filed when a person loses their life from unintentional events.

What is Manslaughter in Fort Collins?

According to Colorado law, the definition of Manslaughter – C.R.S. 18-3-104 – is:

A person commits the crime of manslaughter if:

(a) Such person recklessly causes the death of another person; or

(b) Such person intentionally causes or aids another person to commit suicide.

A key term in this definition is ‘recklessly.’ The definition of ‘recklessly’ is:

A person acts recklessly when he consciously disregards a substantial and unjustifiable risk that a result will occur or that a circumstance exists.

Generally, when someone has died, Fort Collins Police and the Larimer County Sheriff will investigate to see if any ‘intentional conduct’ crime fits the situation. When the event that caused the death is accidental and they cannot prove any intent, they will charge Manslaughter.

What is the Sentence for a Manslaughter Conviction in Larimer County?

In Larimer, Boulder, and Grand County, Manslaughter is a class 4 felony. This level of felony is punishable with 2 to 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections (DOC) and $2,000 to $500,000 in fines. An even longer lasting consequence is the haunting effect a Manslaughter conviction has on a person’s criminal record. A full time criminal defense attorney, like those from the O’Malley Law Office, is vital for your defense and your future.

Have you been charged with Manslaughter? Call the experienced attorneys from the O’Malley Law Office to defend you today!

What Are Some Examples of Manslaughter in Loveland?

Because the definition of Manslaughter is so vague in Fort Collins, Loveland, and Estes Park, this crime can be charged in many different accidental circumstances.

Chevron Icon FoCo

If a person was helping to fix a wheel on their friend’s car and the wheel fails while driving at fast speeds on the highway, causing the friend to die in the accident, the person could be charged with Manslaughter.

Chevron Icon FoCo

If a friend drowns in their backyard pool, or a friend testing out a bullet proof vest is killed when the bullet hits an unprotected area. Even though all parties involved agreed to participate, the person who pulled the trigger could still be charged.

Why Should You Hire a Fort Collins Lawyer When Facing Manslaughter Charges?

The police are not on your side when investigating a death.

They try to get you to trust them, but are really asking questions to meet all the elements of Manslaughter in order to charge you. Just a simple admission that what you and the deceased were doing was dangerous could be seen as an admission. The police are trying to hold someone responsible anytime a person dies. Don’t be that person. Having an experienced criminal defense attorney, like those from the O’Malley Law Office, will protect you from the government’s manipulation. We will be your voice and keep the police and district attorney from speaking to you and twisting your words against you. Our lawyers care for you and your circumstances. We will not rest until a solid defense is before your jury.

If you or someone you love has been charged with Manslaughter, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent and contact the best criminal defense attorneys from the O’Malley Law Office at 970-658-0007 to schedule a free consultation. We can even do an attorney visit to the Larimer County Jail to consult with an inmate. Together, we can protect your future.