- “A person commits possession of burglary tools if he possesses any explosive, tool, instrument, or other article adapted, designed, or commonly used for committing or facilitating the commission of an offense involving forcible entry into premises or theft by a physical taking.”
Larimer County Possession of Burglary Tools Lawyer: When is Possession of Burglary Tools Charged?
Often, we see allegations of Possession of Burglary Tools when a person shoplifts from a store and uses tools to remove security tags. Most people don’t realize that the simple petty theft of stealing an item from a store can become a felony charge. We also see this charge when someone is accused of Second Degree Burglary – C.R.S. 18-4-203 after they use tools to enter a business or home unlawfully.
Because the definition of “burglary tools” is vague, many people are charged with this offense if law enforcement agencies find a screwdriver or pair of pliers in your pocket. This is why it is important to have an experienced Fort Collins criminal defense attorney at your side to defend you against charges such as Possession of Burglary Tools.
The Consequences of Possession of Burglary Tools in Loveland
Possession of Burglary Tools is a class five felony in Larimer County and throughout Colorado. If you are convicted, you would face:
- 1 to 3 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections
- $1000 – $100,000 fine
Why You Need an Experienced Fort Collins Burglary Defense Attorney in Larimer County
Because a conviction of Possession of Burglary Tools is a felony, having it on your record is devastating. It can be difficult to get a job when employers can see that you have a felony in your past, and it can also be difficult to find housing. It is vital that you work with an experienced burglary defense lawyer in Larimer County to fight for your freedom. We will interview you early and identify key witnesses for your case. We will develop a strong strategy for your defense and fight the charges against you.