Larimer County First Degree Burglary Attorney: What is the Definition of 1st Degree Burglary?
In order to be charged with First Degree Burglary in Larimer County, there must be the added element that the accused assaulted or menaced a person while entering or fleeing the building or home, or that they have possession of an explosive or deadly weapon. First Degree Burglary is often charged when a home or business is invaded by a professional criminal. These people derive a portion of their income from criminal conduct. We also see this crime charged following a breakup, when an ex-boyfriend or ex-girlfriend is attempting to recover their property. An experienced first degree burglary lawyer can distinguish between a professional criminal, and a misunderstanding following a broken relationship.
Fort Collins 1st Degree Burglary Attorney: What is the Sentence for First Degree Burglary?
First Degree Burglary is a Class 3 felony. The possible sentence for a Class 3 felony is:
- $3,000 – $750,000 fine
- 4 – 16 years imprisonment in the Colorado Department of Corrections
A prison sentence is possible with such a severe crime – especially if a weapon was involved or if it was a home that was entered. Having an experienced first degree burglary lawyer in Fort Collins and Loveland by your side is vital for your future and freedom.
Why Do I Need a First Degree Burglary Lawyer in Fort Collins and Loveland?
The Colorado Burglary statutes are complex; you need a first degree burglary lawyer in Fort Collins and Loveland who understands criminal law by your side to fight for your freedom and protect you in court. Judges will not see the whole picture if you don’t have an advocate working to present the truth.
If you or a loved one has been contacted by police or a sheriff’s deputy, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and call us at 970-658-0007, or submit the “Get Help Now” form. Together, we can protect your future.