Larimer County First Degree Arson Attorney: What is the Definition?
The law defines First Degree Arson as:
Basically this means the District Attorney as well as the Larimer County Sheriff or Fort Collins police must have evidence to prove that:
there was an intent to set a fire to someone else’s building or occupied structure (i.e. trailer)
there was no owner consent
First Degree Criminal Arson Sentence
First Degree Arson, C.R.C. 18-4-102, is a Class 3 felony. As with any Colorado felony, prison time may be part of the sentence upon a guilty verdict or guilty plea. The sentence range that a Class 3 felony holds is:
- four to 12 years in the Department of Corrections
- five-year parole sentence
Typically, any fines and damage restitution will also be part of the sentence.
This charge can be aggravated if an explosive was used to cause the arson. If this is the case, the charge will be seen as a violent crime and will be sentenced from a range of eight to 24 years prison time, with five years of parole.
Accidents with fire are very common.
Fort Collins First Degree Arson Case Examples
Many of the clients we have defended against First Degree Arson charges have been wrongly accused of intentionally starting a fire. Fire acts very unpredictably, and accidents with fire are very common. At the O’Malley Law Office, we have fought for elderly clients who were unaware of what they were doing when setting a fire. We have also seen teenage clients who set a small fire, which quickly got out of control and caused damage that was never intended. Regardless of the circumstances surrounding your charge, you need a reliable defense attorney with experience in Fort Collins, as well as all of Larimer, Grand, and Boulder County, to fight hard in your Arson case.
Northern Colorado Arson Charges: How a Larimer County Arson Lawyer Can Help
Facing charges which could put you in prison is a serious situation. Your life, job and future could be seriously affected by the outcome of your sentencing. You need a knowledgeable criminal lawyer to help you. With over 20 years of experience defending clients charged with First Degree Arson in Larimer County and surrounding areas, we will fight to get you the best outcome possible in your case.